top of page
  • Writer's picturemzmacpherson

Foreign Film Summer: Chungking Express (1994), Wong Kar Wai at his Best

Updated: Oct 12, 2023


Character in Wong Kar Wai's Chungking Express for Foreign Film Summer

So much has been written on Wong Kar Wai’s approach to filmmaking, partnership with cinematographer Christopher Doyle, and influence as part of the Hong Kong New Wave. I will try to not repeat that since you can easily find that online. However, let me tell you why I like this man’s brain.


Wong Kar Wai, inventive techniques pay off

His invention of a specific way to step print for effect will forever be recognized as quintessential Wong. It sweeps you up in the movement, the urgency of the moment, and drags you along without ever making you feel like an outsider. Couple this technique with Doyle’s use of color and location? You have a beautiful piece of cinema onscreen.


Because Wong isn’t too interested in plot arcs, you have to put aside your desire for linear conclusions. It’s about the character and the place, as he’s said in interviews. Doyle’s scouting for perfect spots to help portray emotions in a particular scene adds to the magic. What a team! They’ve brought us some gorgeous films over the years. My favorite is In the Mood For Love but I’ll fangirl over that in a later post of my top 10 favorite films.


I recently rewatched Chungking Express with two people who had never seen his work. I carefully watched their faces and reactions, feeling a little bit protective. I’d set the groundwork by explaining step printing, the lack of script, the regular actors he works with, and the use of music. But I needn’t have worried because now Wong has two more fans. Their goal? To watch his entire catalogue. It’s going to be a busy summer!

12 views0 comments
  • Youtube
  • Pinterest

©2022 by Big and Small Screen Blog. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page