top of page
  • Writer's picturemzmacpherson

Hot Take: Bones and All, Chalamet Captivates As Usual

Updated: Oct 12, 2023


My Hot Take: Bones and All. Chalamet captivates, as usual. Read our reviews on the latest TV and movies.

Let's get one thing straight: Chalamet commands a screen. Even in this "little" film, he has a presence that is undeniable. I hesitate to admit that I have not seen Call Me By Your Name so I'm not familiar with director Luca Guadagnino's work. Okay, that's not entirely true. I saw the Suspiria remake and did not like it. But he's on my radar now, thanks to Bones and All.


Bones and All, My Hot Take


You can read a summary of this film anywhere so I'll just let you know my hot take. I'm super interested in Guadagnino's directorial choices! This film feels unique, even though the subject matter may feel played out. It's quiet, sometimes graphic in the horror genre sense, and evenly paced. Great editing. Some cameos that may surprise you. But Chalamet and Rylance own this film. I don't think it would be as captivating without these two actors.


Chalamet is vulnerable, hard, sexy, and complex all at once. I feel like you could describe any of his film performances in that way yet you'd always be correct. And Mark Rylance? Terrifying! I have never seen this man portray anything like Sully in any big or small screen project. He was mesmerizing. I was confused at first about why he was playing the character the way he did but there's one sentence that explains it. I won't spoil it. You'll catch it. I trust you.


My Hot Take: Bones and All. Chalamet captivates, as usual. Read our reviews on the latest TV and movies.

Lest you think I am just full-out fangirling, I'll drop a few negatives too. I was less impressed with the female lead, Taylor Russell. I do wonder if she was directed to act in a certain way and that's why it stands out as a possibly "bad" performance. If this was a specific choice, I feel like it didn't translate well, especially considering the enormous skill of the other actors she had to play against. I realize this may be an unpopular opinion.


Second negative point: why is a white British guy playing what appears to be a Native American man?


And that's it. Those are my only negative critiques. I would gladly watch this film again and again. I may even go back and rewatch Guadagnino's Suspiria. Bones and All, you got me!

  • Youtube
  • Pinterest

©2022 by Big and Small Screen Blog. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page