top of page
  • Writer's picturemzmacpherson

List: Top 12 Movies and Top 10 TV Shows in 2023


List: Top 12 Movies and Top 10 TV Shows in 2023, our Year in Review!

List: What are your Top Movies and TV Shows for 2023? Year in Review

We consume a lot of movies and television every year, as I'm sure you do too. Else, why would you be here? Let's run down Big and Small Screen Blog's list of Top Movies and TV Show favorites from 2023. And note: some of these did not have a 2023 release. I list our favorites from the entire year as we discovered them.


Top 12 Movies: Big Screen List


Tár (2022)


List: Top 12 Movies and Top 10 TV Shows in 2023, our Year in Review! (Tar)

Cate Blanchett gives a master class performance as unlikeable yet compelling conductor Lydia Tár in Todd Field's gorgeous, ice cold film Tár. The score and cinematography alone are worth the time invested in immersing yourself in a world you can't quite reliably trust. Given the #metoo movement and the rise of cancel culture as emerging social dialogue, Tár joins the conversation and leaves you with more questions than answers. Definitely a film that keeps you talking long after the credits.


The Northman (2022)



List: Top 12 Movies and Top 10 TV Shows in 2023, our Year in Review! (The Northman)

Eggers has done it again. He's got an incredible eye and is one of my favorite working directors. The Northman gives us the legend of Amleth, upon whom the Hamlet story is based. If you aren't a fan of mythos, stick around for the cinematography, visual effects, highly skilled acting, and the insane state Alexander Skarsgård put his body in for this film.


Infinity Pool (2023)



List: Top 12 Movies and Top 10 TV Shows in 2023, our Year in Review! (Infinity Pool)

Alexander Skarsgård appears on our list again, this time in Brandon Cronenberg's Infinity Pool, a truly weird film. I don't want to say that the father is better or worse than the son but wow, I'm super impressed with Cronenberg the Younger. I've liked every single one of his mind-scrunching films. See for yourself but go in blind for this one. Trust me. You not only have a truly wacky plot with expert direction and art design, you get Mia Goth with what I think is her real accent. She seems to relish this role and is absolutely riveting.


See How They Run (2022)



List: Top 12 Movies and Top 10 TV Shows in 2023, our Year in Review! (See How They Run)

Switching gears a bit (okay, a lot!), let's do a short review of the cozy See How They Run, starring the always-competent Sam Rockwell and ever-reliable Saoirse Ronan. Sure it's derivative and predictable but that's why I liked it. It reminded me of my favorite Agatha Christie stories and adaptations. In fact, I consider it a much better example of this particular genre put to film than the lauded Knives Out franchise.


You Won’t Be Alone (2022)



List: Top 12 Movies and Top 10 TV Shows in 2023, our Year in Review! (You Won't Be Alone)

You Won't Be Alone is billed as a horror drama but I feel this film is much more than that. At its essential core, I found it to be a quietly beautiful treatise on fate, gender, humanity, and belongingness. Okay, yes, it does have some truly gory horror moments yet I still maintain it is definitely NOT a horror film. Noomi Rapace has top billing but every actor gives a committed and nuanced performance in Macedonian director Goran Stolevski's debut work. I will be keeping him in mind for future films and looking forward to what he does next.


All Quiet on the Western Front (2022)



List: Top 12 Movies and Top 10 TV Shows in 2023, our Year in Review! (All Quite on the Western Front)

The opening sequence of this beautiful but brutal glimpse of the reality of war sets the mood. Bodies are commodities which can easily be replaced. And that's just the beginning of a gut-wrenching, heartbreaking film. All Quiet on the Western Front has been criticized for detouring from the book source material yet I like to think of book and film as two projects which do not have to mirror each other. I thought it was a riveting and haunting film. Gorgeous cinematography and editing, memorable sound design, delicate acting and directorial choices which all landed with incredible emotion put this film on our list this year.


1917 (2019)



List: Top 12 Movies and Top 10 TV Shows in 2023, our Year in Review! (1917)

Different perspective, yes, but just as emotionally hard-hitting and expertly crafted was Sam Mendes' 1917. It's billed as a one-shot but I think that's a bit facetious. Still, the camerawork is stunning! We missed this when it came out originally but decided to watch it after the previous film in our list here. The story is heartbreaking, as expected. So if you are triggered by the senselessness of war, maybe skip this one.


Bones And All (2022)



List: Top 12 Movies and Top 10 TV Shows in 2023, our Year in Review! (Bones and All)

We gave our hot take on this film here on the blog earlier this year but let's take another quick look at this splendid little movie. Bones and All tells the story of a pair of outliers who find each other and fall in love. What complicates this story is the reason they are outliers...no spoilers here! Timothée Chalamet is, naturally, outstanding but you may be surprised to see Mark Rylance as terrifying Sully, yet another character looking to belong. I've never seen him play anything like Sully before! I think the female lead, Taylor Russell, lets down the side a bit but overall, Bones and All is worth a watch.


Oppenheimer (2023)



List: Top 12 Movies and Top 10 TV Shows in 2023, our Year in Review! (Oppenheimer)

We're not alone in our love for Nolan's most recent project, Oppenheimer. In truth, I feel it could have easily been another hour long. I felt the beginning was a bit rushed in trying to set the stage for Nolan's focus on the last two thirds of the film. It was everything I expected from Nolan: time jumps and layers, stunning visuals, stellar acting, incredible production value. Cillian Murphy as Oppenheimer was a smart choice but you know who blew me away? Robert Downey Jr. I have been ignoring his career lately, I must admit, because I'm not a fan of the Marvelverse. Downey virtually disappeared here into his role of Lewis Strauss, the kind of friend you hope you don't end up with. Limited acting tics you've come to recognize from Downey and a measured, thoughtful, vulnerable performance came together to give the viewer something truly new from him.


Now, let's get into the small screen faves from 2023. There were many but here are just the top 10.


Top 10 TV Shows: Small Screen List


Deadloch (2023)



List: Top 12 Movies and Top 10 TV Shows in 2023, our Year in Review! (Deadloch)

If you were a fan of The Katering Show, you'll love Deadloch's humor and attention to detail. Written and created by the same two Kates, Deadloch has such quick comedy, you might want to watch it twice in order not to miss a single joke. Setting: Tasmania. Australian stereotypes: Many. Gender and sexuality stereotypes? Even more! Tropes pile on top of each other with a piercing insightful expertise and care you just don't see in American TV shows. I'm a huge fan of Aussie and Kiwi mystery shows but even if you aren't, you'll get some good belly laughs out of this dark comedy center with a cozy mystery shell.


Copenhagen Cowboy (2023)



List: Top 12 Movies and Top 10 TV Shows in 2023, our Year in Review! (Copenhagen Cowboy)

If you've seen any of Nicolas Winding Refn's work, you know what this show will look like. Those colors, that camera gaze, the score, the highly-stylized violence, the sometimes inexplicable plot...it doesn't matter. It's Refn! And we love him! I sat down to watch Copenhagen Cowboy with my husband and adult son over the course of a few evenings. When we got to the end of the final episode, I couldn't hold back laughing as my husband said, "wait. Is that the end? What? What happened?" Dude, I have no idea. But I don't really care. It's Refn! And we love him!


The Last of Us (2023)



List: Top 12 Movies and Top 10 TV Shows in 2023, our Year in Review! (The Last of Us)

I'm going to out myself as a mediocre video gamer here but The Last of Us was one of the few games I actually finished. And even then, I only really melee so I had to get my adult son to help me get through the end. I was super excited when I found out this game was being adapted to television. And it did not disappoint. Perhaps those who are more hardcore than I can find beef but for me, it was excellent TV! So much love and attention (thanks Naughty Dog, for input!) and money was pored into this production! I loved the gameplay references, acting, camerawork, guest stars, and sound design. My usual nitpicks aside, I loved The Last of Us and I will definitely be watching Season 2, should that ever transpire.


Yellowjackets (2021 - )



List: Top 12 Movies and Top 10 TV Shows in 2023, our Year in Review! (Yellowjackets)

Easily one of my favorite shows evah, Yellowjackets released season 2 this year and it was a banger! No spoilers, in case you haven't joined in the fandom, but hear me: be prepared for some gory stuff punctuated by teen angst and stunted adults making bad decisions. It's kind of cheesy but I like the actors and the crazy plot. Basically, we get a few timelines here: high school soccer team crashes in an isolated landscape and adults attempting to navigate their post-rescue lives. It's just plain fun.


Jury Duty (2023)



List: Top 12 Movies and Top 10 TV Shows in 2023, our Year in Review! (Jury Duty)

I was surprised by how much I enjoyed the reality show Jury Duty. The premise: dude serves on a jury duty he thinks is being filmed as part of a documentary project, not suspecting that it's all a set-up. They sure picked a great mark. Dude was so very earnest. I am always suspicious of reality TV and I never quite trust it. Still, it was more fun than I expected.


Dalgliesh (2021 - )



List: Top 12 Movies and Top 10 TV Shows in 2023, our Year in Review! (Dalgliesh)

If you are fan of PD James' books featuring poet detective Adam Dalgliesh, you'll swoon over the car, the deliberate pacing, and especially the quiet intensity and piercing intelligence of the show's eponymous character, played with restraint and grace by Bertie Carvel. And even if you've never read one of the mystery novels, you will still enjoy the way these mysteries unfold as well as the careful attention to building the characters without compromising the murder mystery plot. Dalgliesh Season 2 hit this year and I gobbled it up. I wish they'd hurry up with Season 3!


Perry Mason (2020 - 2023)



List: Top 12 Movies and Top 10 TV Shows in 2023, our Year in Review! (Perry Mason)


Another Season 2 we absolutely ate up in 2023 was the final season of Perry Mason, the noir thriller that just couldn't get renewed. Super sad about this because it's some truly stellar TV. Look at that picture! The actors, costumes, cinematography, score, set design, and plots will be missed!


Strange New Worlds (2022 - )



List: Top 12 Movies and Top 10 TV Shows in 2023, our Year in Review! (Star Trek: Strange New Worlds)

Loved this new iteration of the Star Trek universe! I had put off starting Star Trek: Strange New Worlds because I was worried it would be a waste of time...I was so very wrong. It's funny, self-referential, at times sexy, and a lot of fun to watch. Old school Trekkies and new fans alike will find something to like, I promise. You'll even smile at the musical episode!


Twisted Metal (2023)



List: Top 12 Movies and Top 10 TV Shows in 2023, our Year in Review! (Twisted Metal)

I had no idea Twisted Metal was based on a video game when I turned it on. I was only watching for Anthony Mackie. But I very quickly fell in love with the world-building, weird characters, dark humor, bloody violence, and the energy of the cast. I'm due for a rewatch already because it's just that fun!


Doctor Who 60th Anniversary Specials (2023)



List: Top 12 Movies and Top 10 TV Shows in 2023, our Year in Review! (Doctor Who)

You won't hear any criticism from me about the 60th Anniversary Specials. I love sci-fi and Doctor Who. I just go with it and enjoy the ride. The first episode was a romp with a fun alien and nice callbacks to the lore. Episode 2 reminded me of Midnight in its creepy vibe and increasing feeling of dread. Episode 3 was full of action and again, creepy and funny at the same time, something I rely on for this show. And I already love the new Doctor, Ncuti Gatwa, in his standalone episode 4. I thought Tennant's ending was perfect and don't mind the bi-regeneration surprise. All in all, it was a great way to end the year.



What Did You Most Enjoy Watching in 2023?


Now that we've shared our lists, what about you? What did YOU most enjoy watching this year? Let us know! And let me remind you about our You Tube channel, Nerd Quiz Night, where you can test your knowledge of several fandoms. Check the playlists and do your worst!


22 views0 comments
  • Youtube
  • Pinterest

©2022 by Big and Small Screen Blog. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page