top of page
  • Writer's picturemzmacpherson

TV: 70s nostalgia viewing with Nancy Drew and the Hardy Boys Mysteries

Updated: Oct 12, 2023


The Hardy Boys and Nancy Drew Mysteries: nostalgia TV at its finest. What are you watching?
The Hardy Boys, Shaun Cassidy as Joe and Parker Stevenson as Frank Hardy.

The Hardy Boys/Nancy Drew Mysteries tv show began when this writer was a mere 7 years old. My older sisters swooned over Shaun Cassidy so naturally I did too. And of course, I read Nancy Drew books regularly. I even imagined I could grow up to "be" her. How sweet the goals of the young!


The Hardy Boys and Nancy Drew Live On!


Today, I'm under the weather with whatever non-COVID crud is going around so I'm trying to seek some comfort TV as well as comfort food while marooned in my bedroom. My husband and I have been rewatching Murder, She Wrote on Peacock and I noticed they have quite a few old nostalgia shows from the 70s and 80s. So I'm diving in!


If you decide to dive in yourself, be aware that Peacock doesn't have all the episodes from the show's three season run. Also, eh, the show isn't that good. In fact, it's kind of a mess. Characters are dropped with no explanation and then there's the gradual absence of first Pamela Sue Martin as Nancy Drew followed by the replacement Janet Louise Johnson as well. Some of the old familiar connections to the main players are missing. But if you like the idea of cozy Scooby Doo mystery plotlines and 70s tv pacing, you're in for a treat.


The Hardy Boys and Nancy Drew Mysteries: nostalgia TV at its finest. What are you watching?
Don't come a'knockin'...

The Hardy Boys have a sweet van, groovy haircuts, and swagger. The mysteries only have a vague connection to the books but hold up with other shows from this era. It felt cozy and nostalgic, just what I was looking for while tucked in bed with cats, orange juice, soup, and cold meds. Let me know if you find any other shows from your childhood!




  • Youtube
  • Pinterest

©2022 by Big and Small Screen Blog. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page